Jee Soo Shin was born in 1981 in Seoul, Korea where she studied piano and composition during her middle- and high-school days at Sun-Hwa Art School, and composition with Chungiek Chang at Seoul National University.  Shortly after finishing her BA, her piece was premiered at the New Artists’ Concert held in Sejong Arts’ Centre in Seoul.

She studied composition and music theory at the Universität Mozarteum Salzburg with Reinhard Febel and Franz Zaunschirm, and won a Raiffeisen-Klassik-Preis in 2004. She finished her studies in 2006 with distinction, which led her to win a Bernhard-Paumgartner Medal given by the Mozarteum Foundation to one of the best graduates of the year. Her work was introduced in Darmstadt Ferienkurse in year 2006 and 2008, and her other works were performed in Korea, Austria, Switzerland, Serbia, United Kingdom and South Africa.

In 2011, Jee Soo Shin was awarded a PhD by the University of Southampton, where she studied music with Michael Finnissy.  At the time of completion, he stated that her innate ‘classicism’, which had been something of a feature in her earlier music, took on a fresh character and elegance as a result of her years of study in England.

  She is undertaking various projects in Seoul (including the Nokha-performance series), with possibilities open for global commissions and collaborations.

She currently teaches part-time at Seoul National University and Kyung Hee University, and also contributes regularly to Seoul Foundation for Arts and Culture magazine.  She is an avid blogger about her life as a composer in Seoul( - in Korean).

-last update: Aug. 2014


BA Music Composition at Seoul National University

MA (distinction) Music Theory at the Universität Mozarteum Salzburg

Thesis: “Fugue and Fugato in the late Twentieth Century”

MA (distinction) Composition at the Universität Mozarteum Salzburg

PhD Music Composition at the University of Southampton


Performance and Commissions (click to view page)

List of Works (click to view page)



2004 Reiffeisen-Klassik-Preis (Mozarteum Stiftung)

2006 Bernhard-Paumgartner Medal (Mozarteum Stiftung)

2007 Euritmia Concorso Internationale di Composizione (Piano work published by Wicky)

2010 Plucked from Nowhere Composition Competition (Álvarez Chamber Orchestra)



Short Bio 

Jee Soo Shin is a Korean composer who currently splits her time between writing contemporary classical music and undergoing inter-disciplinary projects.  While educated in the works of legendary composers her work also crosses into the realms of performance art and avant-garde experiments.  

Jee Soo Shin CV (pdf – updated in Sep 2012)

Leave a Reply